The Midori Hamilton Award is presented by the Oregon Coalition to individuals who have provided exemplary service in the movement to end domestic & sexual violence. The award is named after Midori Hamilton, who began as a volunteer for OCADSV in the mid 1980's. In the early 90's, she began coordinating the women of color caucus as a volunteer. She was instrumental in developing the Coalition's membership and holding meetings of the caucus during lunchtime at OCADSV board meetings, among many other achievements to the benefit of communities throughout our state.

Recipients of the Midori Hamilton Award are selected by OCADSV's board and staff members, and receive a framed certificate and special recognition during our Annual Conference (link is external).

Past recipients


Allison Cleveland, Oregon Anti-Violence Project

Kathleen Marvin,
Tillamook County Women's Resource Center (ret.)


Erin Greenawald, Oregon Department of Justice


Julie McFarlane, Oregon Health Authority


Nancy Greenman, Oregon Sexual Assault Task Force


Desiree Coyote, Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla


Songcha Bowman, South Asian Women's Empowerment & Resource Center and Portland State University


Tawna Sanchez, Native American Youth & Family Center


Vanessa Timmons, Multnomah County Domestic Violence Coordinator's Office (previous) and OCADSV (previous and current)


Toni Ryan, Saving Grace
Jessica Mindlin, Victim Rights Law Center


Denise Washington
Sybil Hebb, Oregon Law Center
Robin Selig, Oregon Law Center


Jayne Downing, Mid-Valley Women's Crisis Service
Phyllis Barkhurst, Oregon Attorney General's Sexual Assault Task Force


Chiquita Rollins, Multnomah County Domestic Violence Coordinator

Each year the Oregon Coalition Against Domestic & Sexual Violence honors advocates' extraordinary contributions with the PASSION Award, presented during the Coalition's Annual Conference

Building upon the anti-oppression and racial justice work of the Coalition and our member programs, and recognizing that advocates from privileged groups are typically afforded more recognition for their work, we strongly encourage nominees from communities of color and other marginalized identities.

Basic criteria

Nominees should...

  • currently employed by a community-based nonprofit or tribal DV/SA advocacy program, working in a direct-service advocacy role with survivors of domestic violence, sexual assault and/or stalking
  • ...exemplify the following qualities in support of their program’s goals
    • P: Perseverance
    • A: Advocacy
    • S: Sensitivity
    • S: Strength
    • I: Integrity
    • O: Optimism
    • N: Nurturance

Additional guidelines

Nominations must be submitted by the program's executive director or lead DV/SA advocacy program coordinator. Other colleagues of the nominee may submit additional statements of support to accompany a nomination.

Please coordinate internally to submit only one nomination per program.

If someone from your program has received the PASSION Award within the past three years, please refrain from submitting a nomination. Scroll down for a list of previous years’ awardees.

Nominations and awards are intended to be a surprise! Please don't tell the person that they've been nominated. If the nominee is selected, we will coordinate to get them to Sunriver (if they aren't already attending this year's conference).

Past recipients


Sami J.
, Battered Persons' Advocacy (Roseburg)

Karen Shultz,
Helping Hands Against Violence (Hood River)


Candace Lillie, Warm Springs Reservations - Victims of Crime Services (Warm Springs)
Julie Warren, SAFE of Columbia County (Saint Helens)
Milli Joseph, MayDay Inc. (Baker City)
Sharon Ford, The Harbor (Astoria)
Shawn Scott, Henderson House (McMinnville)
Tracey Cummings, My Sisters' Place (Newport)


Monica Alexander, Bradley Angle (Portland)
Angie Drake, Clackamas Women's Services (Oregon City)
Marie Hickman, Siuslaw Outreach Services (Florence)
Mercedes Hill, HAVEN from Domestic Violence (The Dalles)
Sharon Moore, The Harbor (Astoria)
Norma Obrist, Tillamook County Women's Resource Center (Tillamook)
Rosie Richburg, Harney Hope (Burns)
Sheila Saray, Los Ninos Cuentan (Oregon City)
Emily Trussell, Center for Hope and Safety (Salem)
Diana Young, Sexual Assault Support Services (Eugene)


Susie Ellwood, Illinois Valley Safe House Alliance (Cave Junction)
Manuel Gutierrez, Domestic Violence Services (Pendleton)
Serra Perino, Helping Hands Against Violence (Hood River)
Jennifer Weeks, Saving Grace (Bend)


Teresa Aslin, Womenspace (Eugene)


Sandy Haw, Henderson House (McMinnville)
Nick Guerrero, Raphael House of Portland