The Oregon Coalition Against Domestic & Sexual Violence maintains a web-based core advocacy training course, constructed in accordance with State of Oregon guidelines (link is external) and intended to serve as a supplement to in-person training, supervision, and mentorship by an experienced advocate. 

Advocate certification

According to Oregon Administrative Rules 137-085, advocates are only considered to be "certified" and have privileged communications status and protections under Oregon state law if they:

  1. have completed at least 40 hours of training in advocacy for victims of domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking that meets the minimum training requirements set out in OAR 137-085-0080; AND
  2. are a current employee of or a volunteer with a qualified community- or campus-based advocacy program. 

IMPORTANT: Communications with victim assistance programs that are managed by law enforcement agencies or district attorney's offices ARE NOT protected under this law.

Get access

In order to create accounts for advocates-in-training, each program must designate at least one person/account as a supervisor (programs can designate more than one supervisor if they wish). Ideally, the designated supervisor should be the direct supervisor of the advocate-in-training, but may also be a program manager, volunteer coordinator, or the executive director. 

Know your role

There are two different types of user accounts:

  • Advocates-in-training can log in and participate in the course.
  • Supervisors can also create new student accounts and track the course progress of advocates-in-training within their program.
Log in

Once your account has been created, you should receive an automated email message containing your username and temporary password (check your spam folder).

You can then log in to our e-learning login portal (link is external) and start your course!

IMPORTANT: Completing the 40-hour advocate training alone DOES NOT confer "certified advocate" status or privileged communication protections.

Privileged communications status and other confidentiality/privacy protections between certified advocates and survivors of domestic or sexual violence receiving advocacy services as provided under Oregon state law are only applicable to current employees of community-based or school-based domestic/sexual violence advocacy programs who have completed the training requirements laid out by the Oregon Department of Justice - Crime Victims' Services Division and Oregon Department of Human Services.

Contact your local advocacy program

If you or your organization need training about domestic and sexual violence, contact your local community-based domestic violence / sexual assault advocacy program. They may be able to provide you with in-person training and/or create a student account for you to access the OCADSV e-learning platform under their supervision.

Contact OCADSV

If your local community-based domestic violence / sexual assault advocacy program is unable to provide the training you require, contact Jonathan Gates, OCADSV Communications and Events Coordinator at (503) 230-1951 x302.

Log in

Once your account has been created, you should receive an automated email message containing your username and temporary password (check your spam folder).

You can then log in to our e-learning login portal (link is external) and start your course!